User Guide : Importing Prior Version Projects and Artifacts : Importing Projects Directly from DataConnect v10
 
Share this page             
Importing Projects Directly from DataConnect v10
You can import projects directly from DataConnect v10 group server using the new import wizard. Before importing, make sure you have the following:
DataConnect v10 URL
User name and password to log into the URL
Administrative access to import the macro definition files to v11
To import version 10 projects directly from DataConnect v10:
1. Launch DataConnect Studio IDE.
2. Make sure you have a valid version 11 license. For more information, see Uploading License File.
3. Click File > Import.
You can also right-click in Project Explorer and select Import.
The Import window is displayed.
Note:  If there are no projects in your current v11 workspace, then click Import Projects in Project Explorer.
4. Expand DataConnect, click From v10 Group Server, and click Next.
The Import from v10 Group Server page of the DataConnect Import Wizard is displayed.
5. Specify the following:
Server URL: DataConnect v10 URL from where you want to import the projects.
User Name: User name to log into v10
Password: Password to log into v10
6. Click Next.
The Select the repository, projects, and releases to migrate to v11 page is displayed.
7. Perform the following:
Repository - Select the v10 repository that contains the projects you want to import.
Projects and Releases - Displays a list of projects associated with the selected repository. Select the projects that you want to import to DataConnect v11.
You can also use the following options:
Select Trunk (Recommended) – Selects all the trunks available in the repository.
Select All – Selects all the projects and releases available in the repository.
Unselect All – Deselects all the projects and releases available in the repository.
Expand All – Expands all folders for the projects.
Collapse All – Collapses all the folders for the projects.
8. Click Next.
The Select macro and backup options page is displayed.
9. Specify the following:
Import Macros from Group Server - Import all the macros from v10 server.
Note:  You must have administrator privileges on the v10 server to import the macros into v11.
Merge macros - If you have selected Import Macros from Group Server, then you can select Merge macros to copy the macros into the macro definition file already assigned to the workspace. Also, you must specify one of the following:
Overwrite - If a conflict occurs, then overwrite existing macros.
Ignore - If a conflict occurs, use the current macro values. This is the default option.
Back up all downloaded artifacts to local disk - In the Location box, click Browse and specify the path where the selected projects will be archived as a .zip file on your local system.
Back up deployed packages to local disk - In the Location box, click Browse and specify the path where a zip file will be created that includes all the .djar files deployed to the integration server in v10.
Continue importing from another repository on this server - Select this option to import projects from another repository. Repeat steps 7 and 8.
Note:  You need to perform Import Macros and Backup Deployed Packages only for the first time you go through Step 9, because these are global for the v10 server.
10. Click Finish.
The Import has completed successfully message is displayed. Also, provides information about the log file location for the import, and the files that are not imported due to errors. You can click View Log to open the log file and view the import details.
Once import is complete, a list is displayed that shows all the projects that have been imported.
The imported artifacts are displayed in Project Explorer.
During import, the following occurs:
For every project in the v10, a new folder is created in the v11 workspace folder and all the artifacts and subfolders are copied into the new project folder. The project name is the earlier v10 project name-version.
Multiple releases of the same project are considered as new projects in the v11 workspace.
v10 project macros are copied to the new v11 projects.
A .project file is created in the workspace/project location. This makes the folder an official DataConnect project.
The .metadata/.plugins/or.eclipse.core.resources/.projects workspace folder is updated to contain the project name folder that contains metadata about the project including its location.
All the artifact dependency paths and file names are checked and edited as appropriate. The file extensions are corrected. All the referenced artifacts are resolved using absolute paths to the new project locations.
If the imported process file contains references to external .session files, then the session details are automatically merged from the session file into the process.
A DataConnect_copy_{date-time}.log is generated. You can review this log to view any modification, the files that could not be located, and so on. Any problematic files may need to be manually edited.
Note:  This log file is located in the root of the workspace location. This location is displayed in the DataConnect window title if the Show workspace location preference was enabled.